TML honors Bonnen as Legislator of Year

   AUSTIN – The Texas Municipal League recently announced that Representative Dennis Bonnen (R-Angleton) has received a TML Legislator of the Year Award. 
   During the 84th regular session, Bonnen consistently advocated on behalf of municipal authority throughout the session when numerous attempts were made to erode local control.  
   Bonnen also authored and passed legislation that modified the deadline for cities to provide notice of a proposed property tax rate.  
   “Chairman Bonnen understands that taxpayers’ best recourse for change is at the local level,” said Bennett Sandlin, TML Executive Director.,” said Bennett Sandlin, Executive Director.
   “Instead of consolidating power at the state level, the Chairman understands that decisions are best left locally,” said Sandlin. 
   First elected to the Texas House in 1996, Bonnen serves as the Chairman of the powerful House Committee on Ways and Means and serves on the House Committee on Natural Resources. 
   The award was presented to Bonnen on Sept. 23, during the TML Annual Conference in San Antonio.   
   The Texas Municipal League is a voluntary association of 1,146 member cities.  
   It was established in 1913 for the purposes of serving the needs and advocating the interests of Texas cities. 


Rate this article: 
No votes yet