"10 inducted into Blackcat Hall of Fame" By Allison Sliva BCISD Communications

Sentinel photo/Mike Reddell
This year’s BCHS Hall of Famers are, from left: Harry Q. Brooks; JeRayle Franklin; Da'Marcus Griggs; Brodrick Gartica; Heather Brewer Hilliard, standing in for inductee Corey Hix; Superintendent Dr. Marshall Scott III; Anthony Smith Sr and Florida Smith, standing in for inductee Anthony Ray Smith Jr; Gregory Lynn Williams; Harper Augsburger, David and Sharon Landgrebe, standing in for Kevin Landgrebe; Willie Rollins.

   The Bay City ISD Blackcat Hall of Fame inducted ten members at a football game halftime ceremony on November 3rd. 
   The Hall of Fame was established in 2001 to recognize former athletes or head coaches who have distinguished themselves beyond “the norm” and who have represented our community at a state or national level.
   Inductees include:
Harper Augsburger, Bay City High School Class of 1957. Augsburger was known at BCHS as a stand-out athlete. At Southwest Texas State, now known as Texas State University, he lettered in the High Jump. 
   He also lettered in Basketball, and was a member of Southwest Texas’ 1960 NAIA National Championship Division One Basketball Team. This was the first and the only National Basketball Championship won by the University.
   Harry Q. Brooks, BCHS Class of 1991. Brooks lettered in four sports at Bay City High. He was a member of the BCHS 1990 State Championship Track & Field Team. As a scholarship football player at the University of Arkansas, he earned SEC Defensive Player of the Week, and MVP of the Game honors. After playing at Arkansas, Brooks finished his college football at Southwest Texas State University.
   JeRayle Franklin, BCHS Class of 2004. While at BCHS, Franklin led Blackcat Basketball in scoring all four years while on the team. As a scholarship basketball player at Southern Nazarene University in Oklahoma, Franklin played on the 2007 Sooner Athletic Conference Championship team, served as team captain in 2008, and ranks today as number seventeen in rebounding in Southern Nazarene University history.
   Brodrick Gartica, BCHS Class of 2001. Gartica was a member of the 2000 Blackcat Football 4A State Championship Team. He also won the District Discus Championship both his junior and senior years. At Prairie View A&M University, Gartica continued his Track and Field success, winning the SWAC Conference Championship in discus in his junior and senior years.
   Da’Marcus Griggs, BCHS Class of 2006. Griggs received honors as both a Wide Receiver and Quarterback during his years at BCHS. At Texas State University, Griggs earned the MVP award among many other awards, and was selected to play in the FCS All-American Bowl. Griggs still holds the Bobcat’s single-season reception record, and today, holds second place for most receptions in the school’s history.
Rate this article: 
No votes yet