Collegeport New Year’s celebrations

Matagorda County TXGenWeb
Collegeport: New Year’s Day 1953
1st row seated: Lynda Wells, Margaret Bryan, Weldon Corporon, Carl Halfen "Spooky,” Russell Corporon, Annie Nell Penland
2nd row: Mrs. Brown, Dick Corporon, A. A. Penland, Mr. Gableman, Paul Penland, Ruby Sanders, Clyde Ware, Jr., ____ Penland?, Sue Penland, Virginia Wells, Joy Corporon, Gerald Wells, Jr., Roy Corporon, unknown
3rd row: Gerald Merck?, Dorothy Franzen Merck, Mae Perciville, Vannie Penland, Mrs. A. G. Fitzgerald, Lena Carrick, Sherry Williams, Phyllis Holsworth, Ellen Franzen, Vick Gallaher, Prudence Gallaher, Lawrence Smith, Grace Smith, Billy Halfen, Juliette Halfen, Clifford Franzen, Della Braden, unknown, unknown, unknown, unknown
4th row: Gilvie Holloway, Rev. A. G. Fitzgerald, LuEllen Corporon, John Carrick, Ellen (Emma) Franzen, Ruby Wells, Gaines Corporon, Dean "Deanie Boy" Merck, Jr., Roy Williams, Lynda Williams, Ethel Williams, Gustave Franzen, Ida Mae Franzen, unknown, Larry Corporon, unknown, Carrie Nelson, unknown, Fred Roessler, Dean Merck, unknown

Matagorda County TXGenWeb

   Four times a year, the residents had special gatherings. Collegeport Day, begun in 1908 continues to today. 
   They joined with the residents of Citrus Grove for their annual Thanksgiving dinner.  
   The third was an annual dinner on February 22nd, to observe the birthday of George Washington, the father of their country. 
   The fourth celebration began on January 1, 1910 when New Year’s Day was celebrated.  
   It continued into the 1960s and in 1926 was observed by only two community members who braved the weather to get together to continue the tradition. 
   The following articles give a glimpse into the celebrations for many year. 
   More information on Collegeport can be found at

To read more, please log in or subscribe to our digital edition. 

Rate this article: 
No votes yet